IF ONLY

IF ONLY TIME COULD TELL

THAT THIS WAS HER LAST MOMENT

I WOULD ASK FATE TO KEEP AT BAY

 

IF ONLY DESTINY COULD COULD BE FAIR

TO HIM, I WOULD HAVE LAUGHED

A LAUGHTER THAT WOULD NEVER END

 

IF ONLY I COULD SEE YOUR TEARS

I WOULD HAVE HELD YOU CLOSER AND

NEVER LET GO OF YOU EVEN FOR A SECOND

 

IF ONLY I COULD WATCH YOUR STEPS

I WOULD HAVE PLAYED A SONG THAT

WOULD NEVER END

 

IF ONLY REALITY COULD STARE BEFORE ME

MAYBE, I COULD CHANGE IT ALL,MAYBE

IF ONLY YOU HAD FAITH

 

IF ONLY I COULD SEE BEYOND

I WOULD BRING ALL THOSE JOYOUS MOMENTS

AND KILL THIS SILENCE THAT I FEEL

IF ONLY,YES, IF ONLY

About ogungbesan20
I'M A STUDENT OF SOCRATIC SCHOOL OF THOUGHT AS MUCH AS I BELIEVE IN THE PRACTICES AND THEORIES OF ALL KNOWLEDGE LEADING TO TRUTH. ....SHALOM......

29 Responses to IF ONLY

  1. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 32 (November 4-10) | Jingle

  2. Pingback: Agreement 4 Thursday Poets Rally Week 32 Participants… | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  3. Jingle says:

    love your ifs,
    full of imagery.
    well done.

  4. Jingle says:

    your target is participant list,
    let me know after you make a minimum 18 comments.
    Happy Rally.
    xxx

  5. Mase Da Rula says:

    I enjoyed this….

    .Mase Da Rula.
    A Ruler’s Kingdom
    http://dieselfromthad.wordpress.com

  6. B says:

    Hi love.
    These are perfects example of our regrets in life, particularly in love.
    Well, what’s a man got to do?
    CARPE DIEM!

    Keep writing, I would like to read more of your writings!

    HAPPY RALLY!

    Oh, here’s my share!
    YOU

    Thanks!

    LOVE,
    B
    thisisbrixx.wordpress.com

  7. if only.. those two words resonate everywhere and can be related to by many people!

    enjoyed the read..!

    My Rally Entry

  8. Sumit Sarkar says:

    Beautiful imagery….
    loved this a lot…
    “IF ONLY DESTINY COULD COULD BE FAIR
    TO HIM, I WOULD HAVE LAUGHED
    A LAUGHTER THAT WOULD NEVER END”

  9. love the feeling of endless possiblities that it gives me. well done!

  10. ‘If only’ has always found it’s way into everyone’s life. If only I could say something better to show how much I liked your poem.

    http://wordsworthmillions.wordpress.com/2010/11/06/my-religion/

  11. Jingle says:

    Hello, how are you?
    Reminder;
    return favors to poets who are here for you,
    do 18 NEW comments….
    let me know after you are done.
    Thanks for the attention!
    Happy Saturday! xxx

    here is mine:
    http://itistimetothinkformyself.blogspot.com/2010/11/today-i-write-it-down.html

  12. Olivia says:

    Beautiful piece.. I say YES..
    I kind of identify with this one- Only my Lover may never realize the way you have written it here.. 🙂

    Loads of Love xoxox

  13. Olivia says:

    Glad to read you today, hope all is well in your blogging or poetry writing agenda.
    We treasure your input and would be delighted to see you at our potluck again this coming Monday.
    Any poem is acceptable, simply link in and share…
    Let me know if you need further assistance.
    Keep writing, Keep inspiring!
    xoxox

  14. bward42 says:

    “If only, yes if only”… This poem is so easy to identify with! Longing and regret. Thanks for the bit of melancholy beauty! I really enjoyed reading it!

  15. Neha says:

    If only. Can’t count the number of times i have felt the same – beautifully done.

  16. Lyn says:

    I’m really attuned to your words..this is more than intuition..it’s wisdom!

  17. trisha says:

    “if only” sometimes it hurts more than a thunder.

  18. Lovely poem. Remind me of one of my favorites from several years ago.

    My Rally Submission:
    http://robinelizabeth58.wordpress.com/2010/10/30/the-beauty-of-ephesians-five/

  19. Malcolm McLachlan says:

    “If only” the biggest two words I know. A lovely poem.

  20. belladonna23 says:

    sometimes, i know exactly how easy it is to focus on the “if only.” great job.

  21. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 32 Participation Awards | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  22. Jamie Dedes says:

    Profound insight here: the I coulda, woulda, shoulda thing. Well wrought poem and well considered too. I like it. Good stuff.

    Happy Rally days.

  23. Pingback: Wow, These Are Rare Talents In Poetry….Rally Week 32 Highlight | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

Leave a Reply

